About The State

Having a varied and proud history from the earliest times, Manipur came under the British Rule as a Princely State after the defeat in the Anglo-Manipuri War of 1891. After independence of India in 1947, the Princely State of Manipur was merged in the Indian Union on October 15,1949 and became a full-fledged State of India on the 21th January, 1972 with a Legislative Assembly of 60 seats of which 20 are reserved for Scheduled Tribe and 1 reserved for Scheduled Caste. The State is represented in the Lok Sabha by two members and by one member in the Rajya Sabha.

Hon'ble Chief Minister :- Shri. Nongthombam Biren Singh

Nongthombam Biren Singh (born 1 January 1961) is an Indian politician and former footballer and journalist. He is the current Chief Minister of Manipur.

He began his career as a footballer and got recruited in the Border Security Force (BSF) playing for its team in domestic competitions. He resigned from the BSF and turned to journalism. Despite having had no formal training and experience, he began the vernacular daily Naharolgi Thoudang in 1992 and worked as the editor till 2001.

Turning to politics in 2002, Singh joined the Democratic Revolutionary Peoples Party and won the assembly elections from Heingang. He retained the seat in 2007 contesting with a Indian National Congress ticket after joining the party in 2003. Serving as the Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports, he quit the party in 2016 before joining the Bharatiya Janata Party. In 2017, he retained his seat from Heingang again and was named the Chief Minister

In March 2017, he was elected as leader of the BJP Legislature Party in Manipur and with a majority of MLAs having been presented to the Governor, he was sworn in as Chief Minister of Manipur on 15 March 2017. He is the first ever BJP Chief Minister in Manipur

Official Portal of Manipur Government
Governor of Manipur
Department of State Information Commission (SIC)
Department of eMPSC Online - Manipur Public Service Commission (MPSC)
Department of Public Service Commission
Department of State Women's Commission (MSCW)
Department of Commerce and Industries
Department of National Rural Health Mission (NRHM)
Home Department
Department of Information and Public Relations
Department of Information Technology
Department of Right to Information
Department of Planning
Public Works Department (PWD)
Department of Rural Development and Panchayati Raj
Department of Social Welfare
Department of Sports
Department of Health
Department of Education
Department of Electricity
Department of Transport
Department of Agriculture
Department of Income Tax
Department of revenue
Department of tourism
Department of Elections
Department of Police
Department of Animal Husbandry
Department of Employment
Department of Public Health Engineering
Department of Town Planning
Department of Manipur State Archives
Department of Environment and Forest