About The State

Tucked away in the hills of eastern sub-Himalayas is Meghalaya, one of the most beautiful State in the country. Nature has blessed her with abundant rainfall, sun-shine, virgin forests, high plateaus, tumbling waterfalls, crystal clear rivers, meandering streamlets and above all with sturdy, intelligent and hospitable people.

Emergence of Meghalaya as an Autonomous State on 2nd April 1970 and as a full-fledged State on 21st January 1972 marked the beginning of a new era of the geo-political history of North Eastern India

The State of Meghalaya is situated on the north east of India. It extends for about 300 kilometres in length and about 100 kilometres in breadth. It is bounded on the north by Goalpara, Kamrup and Nowgong districts, on the east by Karbi Anglong and North Cachar Hills districts, all of Assam, and on the south and west by Bangladesh.

Shillong, the capital of Meghalaya.

Hon'ble Chief Minister :- Dr. Mukul Sangma

Dr. Mukul Sangma (born 20 April 1965) is an Indian politician and a leader of the Indian National Congress party in Meghalaya state. He is the current Chief Minister of Meghalaya

Dr. Mukul Sangma is actively involved in mobilization of Frontal Wings of Indian National Congress in the State of Meghalaya. He actively participates in campaigns and mobilization of Frontal Wings of INC including regular campaign in favour of NSUI during Delhi University Students Union Elections. He actively involves in social work and takes keen interest in mobilization of women for social awareness and socio-economic advancement particularly in the rural areas. Dr. Mukul Sangma regularly involves himself in various activities of youth development programmes including activities in sports, promotion and preservation of culture and had motivated and supported formation of over 200 Youth Clubs/Societies. He is personally active in undertaking social work.

Official Portal of Meghalaya Government
Raj Bhavan, Shillong, Meghalaya
Department of State Information Commission (SIC)
Department of State Commission for Women
Department of State Electricity Regulatory Commission
Department of Arts and Culture
Department of Commerce and Industries
Department of Community and Rural Development
Department of Information and Public Relations
Department of Information Technology
Department of Planning
Department of Public Health Engineering
Department of Social Welfare
Department of Urban Development Agency (MUDA)
Department of Sports
Department of Health
Department of Education
Department of Electricity
Department of Transport
Department of Finance
Department of Agriculture
Department of Income Tax
Department of Food, Civil Supplies and Consumer Affairs
Department of revenue
Department of tourism
Department of cooperation
Department of Elections
Department of Removal of Grievance
Department of Irrigation
Department of Police
Department of Animal Husbandry
Department of Employment