About The State

The formalization of Mizoram State took place on 20th February, 1987. Mizoram is a mountainous region which became the 23rd State of the Union in February 1987. It was one of the districts of Assam till 1972 when it became Union Territory. Sandwiched between Myanmar in the east and south and Bangladesh in the west, Mizoram occupies an area of great strategic importance in the north-eastern corner of India. It has a total of 630 miles boundary with Myanmar and Bangladesh. Mizoram has the most variegated hilly terrain in the eastern part of India. The hills are steep and are separated by rivers which flow either to the north or the south creating deep gorges between the hill ranges.

Hon'ble Chief Minister :- Shri. PU Lal Thanhawla

Shri. PU Lal Thanhawla has been the Chief Minister of Mizoram since December 11, 2008. He successfully contested the 2008 Mizoram Assembly Election in Serchhip and South Tuipui. His party, the Indian National Congress, resoundingly won that election with 32 MLAs.

He is the son of Hmartawnphunga Sailo and Lalsawmliani Chawngthu. He completed his Matriculation in 1958, his Intermediate Arts in 1961 and his BA in 1964 Aizawl. He currently resides in Zarkawt Veng, Aizawl.

Shri. PU Lal Thanhawla started his career as Recorder in the office of Inspector of Schools in the District Council. After that, he joined the Assam Co-operative Apex Bank as Assistant. In 1966, he joined the Mizo National Front as Secretary till 1967 when he joined the Indian National Congress party after he was released from jail in Silchar. In 1973 he was elected Party President. In 1978 and 1979 he was elected as a Legislator in Union Territory Elections. In 1984, under his Leadership, the Congress party swept the state and he became Chief Minister. In 1986, when the Peace accord was signed between India and MNF, he gave up his Chief Ministership as party of the agreement to Pu Laldenga. In the first State MLA elections of Mizoram in 1987 he was elected as Chief Minister and continued to serve as Chief Minister after being re-elected in the 1989 and 1993 Elections. He lost his MLA seat in 1998 but got it back in the 2003 elections. Currently he is elected from both Serchhip & South Tuipui Constituency.

Official Portal of Mizoram Government http://mizoram.nic.in/
Chief Minister of Mizoram https://cmonline.mizoram.gov.in/
Governor of Mizoram https://rajbhavan.mizoram.gov.in/
Department of State Election Commission (SEC) https://sec.mizoram.gov.in/
Department of Finance Commission http://mizofincom.nic.in/
Department of State Information Commission (SIC) https://mic.mizoram.gov.in/page/Profile.html
Department of Public Service Commission https://mpsc.mizoram.gov.in/
Department of Art and Culture https://mizoculture.mizoram.gov.in/
Department of General Administration https://gad.mizoram.gov.in/
Department of Industries https://industries.mizoram.gov.in/
Department of Information and Communication Technology https://dict.mizoram.gov.in/
Department of Information and Public Relations https://dipr.mizoram.gov.in/
Department of Personnel and Administrative Reforms http://mizodpar.nic.in/
Department of Public Health Engineering http://phed.mizoram.gov.in/
Department of Urban Development and Poverty Alleviation http://udpamizoram.nic.in/
Public Works Department https://pwd.mizoram.gov.in/
Department of Sports https://sys.mizoram.gov.in/
Department of Health https://health.mizoram.gov.in/
Department of Education https://schooleducation.mizoram.gov.in/
Department of Electricity https://power.mizoram.gov.in/
Department of Transport https://transport.mizoram.gov.in/
Department of Finance http://www.mizofin.nic.in/
Department of Agriculture http://agriculturemizoram.nic.in/
Department of Income Tax http://www.zotax.nic.in/
Department of Sainik Welfare https://sainikwr.mizoram.gov.in/
Department of revenue http://mizoram.nic.in/pop32.htm
Department of tourism https://tourism.mizoram.gov.in/
Department of cooperation https://coop.mizoram.gov.in/
Department of Elections http://ceomizoram.nic.in/
Department of Removal of Grievance https://lad.mizoram.gov.in/page/ombudsman.html
Department of Irrigation https://irrigation.mizoram.gov.in/
Department of Police https://police.mizoram.gov.in/
Department of Animal Husbandry https://ahvety.mizoram.gov.in/
Department of Employment https://let.mizoram.gov.in/