About The State

Odisha formed a part of the ancient Kalinga of Mahabharat fame. Ashok the Mauryan King of Magadh, invaded Kalinga in 261 BC and this event has gone down in history as the Great Kalinga war. With the coming of independence, the princely states in and around Odisha surrender their sovereignty to the Governemtn of India. By the states merger (Governers provinces) order, the princely states of Odisha are completely merged with the Odisha on 19th August 1949. It is bounded by the Bay of Bengal on the east; Madhya Pradesh on the west and Andhra Pradesh on the south.

Hon'ble Chief Minister :- Shri. Naveen Patnaik

Shri. Naveen Patnaik (born 16 October 1946) is 14th and current Chief Minister of Odisha. The supremo of the Biju Janata Dal, is also a writer and has published four books. Shri. Naveen Patnaik is a writer and had for most part of his youth been away from both politics and Odisha, but after his father Biju Patnaik's demise, he entered politics in 1997 and a year later founded the Biju Janata Dal, named after Biju Patnaik, which won the state election with the BJP as its alliance and formed the government in which Patnaik became Chief Minister His mild mannerism, "stand against corruption" and "pro-poor policies" have resulted in the development of a huge support base in Odisha, which has voted him to power in the last four consecutive terms. Like his father, he has managed to control the bureaucracy and transformed it into a machine for the development of the state. He is a devotee of Lord Jagannath, Puri and Maa Tara Tarini of Ganjam in Odisha.

Official Portal of Odisha Government http://www.odisha.gov.in/
Chief Minister of Odisha http://www.odisha.gov.in/cmodisha/default.asp
Governors Office, Odisha http://www.rajbhavanodisha.gov.in/
Department of Online Citizen Services https://www.odishaonline.gov.in/site/default.aspx
Department of State election Commission (SEC) http://secorissa.org/
Department of State Information Commission (SIC) http://orissasoochanacommission.nic.in/(S(nn3few24rwg3mh4502rog545))/default.aspx
Department of Public Service Commission http://www.opsc.gov.in/
Department of State Human Rights commission http://as1.ori.nic.in/ohrc/
Department of Electricity Regulatory Commission (OERC) http://www.orierc.org/
Department of Culture http://odishaculture.gov.in/
Department of Electronics and Information Technology http://it.odisha.gov.in/
Department of Food Supplies and Consumer Welfare http://foododisha.in/
Department of General Administration http://www.gaodisha.gov.in/
Department of Industries http://www.orissa.gov.in/industries/
Department of Information and Public Relations http://inpr.odisha.gov.in/
Department of Panchayati Raj http://odishapanchayat.gov.in/
Department of Parliamentary Affairs http://www.odisha.gov.in/pa/
Department of Science and Technology http://www.odisha.gov.in/sciencetechnology/
Department of Sports and Youth Services http://www.dsysodisha.gov.in/
Department of Women and Child Development http://www.dsysodisha.gov.in/
Department of Health http://www.dhsodisha.nic.in/
Department of Education http://dheodisha.gov.in/
Department of Electricity http://energy.odisha.gov.in/
Department of Transport http://orissatransport.nic.in
Department of Finance http://www.odisha.gov.in/finance/
Department of Agriculture http://agriodisha.nic.in/
Department of Income Tax https://odishatax.gov.in/
Department of Housing and Urban Development http://www.urbanodisha.gov.in/
Department of revenue http://www.odisha.gov.in/revenue/
Department of tourism www.odishatourism.gov.in
Department of cooperation http://coopodisha.gov.in/
Department of Elections http://ceoorissa.nic.in/
Department of Removal of Grievance http://cmgcodisha.gov.in/
Department of Irrigation http://www.dowrorissa.gov.in/
Department of Police http://odishapolice.gov.in/
Department of Animal Husbandry http://www.odishaahvs.com/
Department of Employment http://empmissionodisha.gov.in/Exchange/